On the start-up of the new session of our state legislature


Today at 2 PM the Ohio House of Representatives will meet for the opening session of the 129th General Assembly. Each member will be administered the oath of office by Chief Justice-elect Maureen O'Connor. Speaker-elect Bill Batchelder, R-Medina, will be elected officially, and a series of initial actions will be taken to lay the first round of organizational stepping stones for the new session.

At 4:30 PM a joint session of the House and Senate will convene in the House chambers to declare the votes of the statewide officeholders elected in November, as required by Article III, Section 3 of our State Constitution.